A Reminder for the One Thing Necessary

bethany

Scriptures

Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing.
Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.
(Luke 10:41-42)

Observation

Martha and Mary and friends of Jesus. They welcome Jesus into their home and Martha begins to do the task of providing for the needs of the guest. Mary however sits at the feet of Jesus listening to His words. He is after all the prophet from Galilee.

When Martha calls his attention to Mary’s apparent lack of interest to the tasks of hospitality, Jesus tells her that Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her. It is not that Jesus doesn’t like what Martha is doing. He only wanted her to know that Mary was already being hospitable: she is after all giving room for the Word of God in her heart.

Application

Jesus contrasts “the many” over which Martha is troubled and “the one” that is important and which Mary has chosen. “The one” is the better part that will not be taken away.

In the ministry, we often forget that “the many” when put on the balance with “the one” doesn’t weight much, although it doesn’t lose its significance by it. Listening to the Lord — that is the important thing.

Prayer

Disturb me, Lord, when my dreams come true, only because I dreamed too small.
Disturb me when I arrive safely, only because I sailed too close to the shore.
Disturb me when the things I have gained cause me to lose my thirst for more of You.
Disturb me when I have acquired success, only to lose my desire for excellence.
Disturb me when I give up too soon and settle too far short of the goals You have set for my life. Amen.

From Disturb Me Lord

Leave a Reply

