Like Mary’s Heart

Scriptures

But as for the seed that fell on rich soil, they are the ones who, when they have heard the word, embrace it with a generous and good heart, and bear fruit through perseverance. (Luke 8:15)

Observation

In Mark 4:20, we have this parallel: “and those which were sown on the good earth are the ones who listen to the word, accept it and bear fruit, one thirty-fold, another sixty-fold and another a hundred-fold.” Worth noting is the way Luke rephrases Mark here in order to underscore, “embrace it with a generous and good heart” and bear fruit “through perseverance.” The Lucan emphasis reminds me of the way the evangelist adds “daily” to Jesus’ command “carry the cross”. Lucan discipleship is about persevering, of struggling through the narrow door and holding onto the Lord. The “generous and good heart”, is the NAB’s rendering of “en kardia kalhn kai agaqhn”. Below are other ways in which the phrase is rendered:

  • in an honest and good heart (RSV, KJV)
  • with a noble and generous heart (JB)
  • in corde bono et optimo (Vulgate)

The sense is that of a heart — metaphor for the subject — who retains the “word of God” (v. 11) in memory and lives them out with generosity.

 

Application

Given Luke’s earlier presentation of Mary as the one “who kept all these in her heart”, we can be sure that the good soil which retains the word of God in a generous and good heart while persevering with it has the mother of the Lord as its model. Mary did not only accept the Word of God, she allowed it to take possession of her and gave it her own flesh and blood. She confirmed her FIAT daily until the cross and beyond. The key is to retain the word of God in memory, allow it to take hold of one’s existence and give it the substance of one’s life as Mary did.

Prayer

From the desire of being praised, deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being honoured, deliver me, Jesus.

From the desire of being preferred, deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being consulted, deliver me, Jesus.
From the desire of being approved, deliver me, Jesus.

From the desire of comfort and ease, deliver me, Jesus
From the fear of being humiliated, deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being criticized, deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being passed over, deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being forgotten, deliver me, Jesus.

From the fear of being lonely, deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of being hurt, deliver me, Jesus.
From the fear of suffering, deliver me, Jesus.

That others may be loved more than I,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be chosen and I set aside,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.
That others may be praised and I unnoticed,
Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.

O Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make my heart like yours.
O Jesus, meek and humble of heart, strengthen me with your Spirit.
O Jesus, meek and humble of heart, teach me your ways.

O Jesus, meek and humble of heart,
help me put my self importance aside
to learn the kind of cooperation with others
that makes possible the presence of your Abba’s household.

[Source: Simple Thoughts]

Leave a Reply

